Why I Began Special Effects Makeup

Hello frenz! Welcome back! You might notice that things look a little different here on my blog, as well on my other social media accounts. I’ve recently started doing special effects makeup, and it turns out that I’m rather decent at it. I enjoy doing it so much that I’ve shied away from my blog for a little while. When I started blogging, I thought that I wanted to be this magnificent writer, but some thoughts have changed. Don’t get me wrong, I still LOVE to write…but I also LOVE doing makeup. But I’ve been thinking, why choose between two passions when I can do them both? So here it is, my new and improved blog…all about SFX makeup. For my readers who prefer my serious, article-type posts, I will still post those as a way to get my thoughts out, but the bulk of my content will be about SFX makeup. I’ve been told to create a YouTube channel for my looks, but I’m not too good with cameras, editing and talking. I’m better with written words and I only think it’s fair to give you all the best of my content.

First off, I want to say that I am in NO WAY a professional makeup artist. I do makeup for fun and all of the opinions expressed here on out are based off of my own experiences. If you’re looking for professional makeup advice, you’ve come to the wrong place, my dear. With that being said, I’ve been doing makeup since I was very young. It started with toy makeup as a baby nugget and progressed to spending all of my hard earned money at Sephora. I’ve been practicing my skills for some time now, and I’ve just now gotten to the point where I can say, with confidence, that I am good at makeup. Practice most certainly makes perfect, and with practice comes understanding. When you’ve played and practiced with makeup for so long, you begin to understand its use. It’s like an art — you begin to understand highlights and shadows and what colors flatter certain skin tones and eye colors. That’s when it starts to get fun.

I’ve always had a love for horror and gore. The first horror movie I ever watched was The Nightmare on Elm Street when I was really young. I was hooked after that. I enjoy the rush of being scared. I enjoy watching a bloody masterpiece in someone’s mind come to life. Call me weird, call me crazy, but it’s something I’ve always been fascinated with. I’ve always had an appreciation for art, too, but the problem with that is I’m not very artistic. I can’t draw for shit but I can color the shit out of a coloring book. Years ago, my sister introduced me to Glam and Gore on YouTube. I had found a new appreciation for special effects art. I would watch in awe as she created stunningly bloody looks, knowing that I would never be able to create it due to the lack of artistry in my veins. I became a bystander to the very thing I loved.

Thinking I could never do it made me never want to try. I thought I needed all of these products and a boatload of cash to be able to create these looks. But there was one day where I just said, fuck it, I’m gonna try. I broke out the eye shadow palettes and went to town. I was surprised with how natural it came to me. I’ve never been good at art, so how was I good at this? I found my new hobby and passion that day. Now fast forward three weeks — I’m shocked by my progression. Three weeks of practice has me creating looks that I never dreamed of being able to create. Not only have I impressed myself, but the public support has been overwhelming. I can’t figure out why I waited this long to do what I love, but I’m happy I started when I did.

I hope you enjoyed my little background story. If you’re interested in doing SFX, dramatic/glam, or even everyday makeup looks, my advice is to just do it. Try it and see what you’re able to create. Your undiscovered skills might shock you.

spooky

7 comments

  1. I’ve alway wanted to get into special effects makeup (just as a hobby). I was going to take a class at my university but it never worked out with my schedule. Now I’m in grad school and well, priorities and time are a lot different. However, sometimes my friends will let me draw fake open wounds on them and that’s a lot of fun!

    -GG
    http://www.girlingamba.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

